Skip to Main Content

Congratulations Distinguished Professor Peter Narins!

Distinguished Professor Peter Narins (IBP) along with Blaire van Valkenburgh and Brad Shaffer (EEB), were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  The ceremony took place at the Kresge Auditorium at MIT, in Cambridge, MA.  The AAA&S was founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, John Hancock, and other prominent “scholar-patriots” who contributed to the establishment of the new nation, its government, and its Constitution.  Some of the members are George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Charles Darwin, Nelson Mandela, Mary Leakey, Martin Luther King, Jr., and this year’s inductees Glenn Close, Laurence Fishburne, Claudine Gay, and Walter Allen.